Lobby: Up
Online: 58
Sync Range: 40
* FAQ    * Search
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 10:05 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: What's your job?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:13 pm 

We get people here from all stages of life, and many different careers. Just curious what other people do for a living? Also if your job is really odd, location might be relevant. Like emu sheppard from new Zealand. I met one of those once.

I'm a graphic designer for a pharma company. Basically the flyers you might see in a pharmacy, hospital, doctors office, they have to be laid out properly with the proper emphasis on the new products, what sales are going when, hide the expiration date in the smallest point type. Mostly you wouldn't see my work unless you were a pharmacist, doctor, maybe nurse, etc.

The hardest part about my job is every department wants their thing to be the biggest. MAKE IT ALL BIG! Except it has to fit on a single piece of paper that sales reps take out to their customers. So when I send the sample out to the department heads for proofing, it's all "make mine a bit bigger".

Post subject: Re: What's your job?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:56 pm 

I'm a surrealist photographer. I recently went full-time self-employed, so I have way too much time to play this game.

Basically, I go out into the woods and make art. People buy it or commission me to do so for their product/brand (often clothing), but I'm often given creative control to take the project in any direction I see fit. Other than that, A lot of my job is experimentation and making work for myself which helps with promotion on social and getting the eyes of potential clients.

I don't have much of a schedule and work almost completely alone, so big projects can be rough sometimes (Stay up till 9 .a.m making edits with a client in Germany? Sure!) and let's not forget managing client expectations. A fun career, nonetheless.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:10 pm