Lobby: Up
Online: 33
Sync Range: 40
* FAQ    * Search
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:33 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2019 3:41 am 

Hey, so I'm just wondring if I'm doing things "right". I'm brand new to FFXI so I've got no past memories to back me up lol. I've started in San D'Orea and just been killing monsters outside the city. I also grabbed two quests I found that I'm working towards, with the goal being to just grind up to level 10 so I can go to the Dunes, and grind there with other players so I can get my second job. I don't really know what to do after that point, but I'm sure i'll figure it out on the way.

I'm just wondering if there's anything I should be doing that I may have missed or don't know about? I'd appreciate any tips. It feels as though quests aren't as important, and grinding is much more important.

Thanks =)

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2019 5:04 am 

Personally I would not go to the dunes before level 13, there are camps there you can do at 11-12 but they can be quite difficult for parties and you're better off (and will generally level faster) by killing mobs solo. I don't go to the dunes until level 15 myself, I kill easy prey mobs to get there in starter and adjacent areas.

There's a few guides around for making money in starting areas. I believe in Sandoria the best one to do is trading in bat wings for gil.

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2019 5:37 am 

Make sure you go into the settings and click auto -sort inventory so youre less likely to lose drops because of full inventory. I suggest keeping the drops you get until you get a stack of 12 before selling them. And dont forget to get your signet from the guard before going to kill stuff

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2019 9:06 am 

Here is a FANTASTIC guide to help you start your journey on Nasomi!

I am on often my self as well, so if you have any in game questions, sent me a /tell any time and I'll see if I can help you out! IGN: Takelli

Fishing: 68
Alchemy: 15