Lobby: Up
Online: 49
Sync Range: 40
* FAQ    * Search
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 12:56 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:21 am 

Hey guys, this is my first time posting and first time playing FFXI. I just want to know if warriors are expected to tank exclusively when people first party up for Valkurm Dunes, and if it's possible to tank with a great axe. I'm level 13 and have mostly scale gear except for body and don't have any experience tanking in this game so I fear I would just be a burden if I were to try. If possible I'd just want to try DPS so I wouldn't have much effect on the success of the party, but I don't know if that's really a thing in this game.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:27 am 

You'll be fine tanking. With or without gear or even subjob. It's the dunes. If a party asks you to tank it's bc they got no other choice.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:28 am 

Most of the time since you are new you may be asked to be a 2nd voke depending on what else is there to tank.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:37 am 

When you say voke do you mean provoke? As in I'd just grab another enemy if more than one was aggro'd?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:34 am 

voke is Provoke, yeah. 2nd voke, or off-tanking, is more like a backup tank. If the tank is low on HP you'll provoke to pull it onto you for the time being while he's healed. Just a precaution. If there are no Ninjas or Paladins then you can expect to be doing tank duties. It's simple at those levels and it's worth trying even if you think you'll be bad at it. At those low of levels all you have to worry about it Provoking when the mob tries to go after anyone else. Also, if a mob linked then I think you should voke the second one so the main tank's HP doesn't drop too quickly for curing. Unless you have a higher level mage outside of the party who can grab it.